A Flat Tire

Stop bad attitude!
Stop bad attitude!

Hi, this is just another quick post, another writing practice, another trace I’d leave the world that will hopefully last for good.

I went to a cafe that night with a girlfriend. We finished our thing at around half past nine, and it was saturday night. We then moved with my motorcycle for two seconds before I realized that it was a bit shaky. I pulled over and tried to have a look at the front tire. No, nothing was wrong. And my girl said ‘Sorry I can’t say whether this is normal’ when looking at the rear tire. I looked and decided it was slightly deflated but maybe because of my weight. I was too lazy to lift my butt off the sadle, and you know I am much heavier these days.

We continued and the shake went crazy, the motorcycle went zig-zagging. It was a flat tire, then. And miraculously, 50 metres ahead of us there was a small motorcycle workshop. Wow, Thank My Almighty God, we were saved. I decided to cruelly turn on the machine and ride the motorcycle with her to the workshop. Well, the cruelty of course led to a long cut in the inner tire. Like when a samurai swiftly tears something (or someone, ouch) with his sword top to bottom..

I firstly had the man at the workshop put some air into the tire so I could take my girl home before I fix my flat tire. But that apparently wasn’t a good idea for he failed again and again to put any air into it. Haha, the hole then wasn’t a hole, it turned out to be an arm-length of leakage. So the only solution was to replace the inner tire with a new one. My girl and I waited for about twenty minutes and paid almost four dollars to get out of that place and head home, which was cheap.

I couldn’t imagine if there was not any workshop nearby. That also leads me to think that it was really weird to get a flat tire. The incidence of accidentally coming across a small nail (or thread?) on the street that punctures your motorcycle’s tire was less than 1 percent (haha, bluffing statistics). In other words, it was so rare, and I was simply unlucky that night. Factors contributing to the accident were the darkness I went into so I couldn’t see clearly what things were lying on the street (you could find a dead rat as well), and of course, having passed a workshop. Call me a negative thinker, but I saw in the television where people having business in workshops put small nails (we call it ‘umbrella nail’ a.k.a paku payung) on the streets so vehicles passing the street will get flat tires and have no option but fixing their tires at the nearest workshop.

But but but, it was only an option to think about. After all I didn’t witness any nail on my torn tire. And there was a bigger thing to think about; a grateful feeling that there was a workshop. It was almost ten at night, and my father wouldn’t like the idea of two girls with their veils on wandering the ascending street, and maybe dragging the motorcycle with a flat tire along with them.

Alhamdulillaah for that night. I learned something. That is… I was simply grateful. And that it’s good to think positively. There is nothing harmful in doing so. Haha, lame story, :p

One thought on “A Flat Tire

Leave a Reply

